Grateful Visitor to Saron Graveyard

In June 2012 Peter Smith of Bargoed wrote to Friends of Saron to say that, on his last visit to Troedyrhiw, he had been appalled and heartbroken by the condition of Saron Graveyard  where his much loved grandparents William and Catherine Jones are buried. As a result of this contact Friends of Saron invited Peter to come to the village to see the progress which has been made and to learn  more about this project.

Peter Smith viewing the grave of his grandparents William and Catherine Jones who had lived in Yew Street, Troedyrhiw.

During his visit to Saron Graveyard on 2nd August 2012 Peter Smith told Friends of Saron ‘What has been allowed to happen here makes me extremely sad and emotional and I am sure that I am not the only person who is affected in this way. I am so pleased and grateful for the efforts which are now being made to restore some dignity to this  special place and  can only hope that they are rewarded with the success which they deserve.’

About davidjcollier

Originally from South Wales I have lived in Nottinghamshire for over forty years. I am married and have three grown up children and two grandchildren. Having worked in education for 43 years I will retire in July 2012. My interests include history (general, local and family), rugby union, swimming, photography, bird watching and gardening. For the benefit of anyone who may actually read this (extremely unlikely, I admit) please do not confuse 'interests' with knowledge or skill. My involvement in a community project which aims to rescue a graveyard from the effects of almost 30 years of neglect. also keeps me quite busy. View all posts by davidjcollier

You must be logged in to post a comment.

