Another successful Volunteer Day and some delighted visitors

Our latest Volunteer day was held on Saturday 15th August. We were pleased to welcome  Gareth, Steve C., Simon, Steve E., Sheila, Andrew, Phil, David, Steve J. and Stephanie whose input and support we are extremely grateful for.

It was pleasing to see that the wild flowers that were sown earlier in the year still make an impressive show.

Cemetery 008

Our volunteers got on with various jobs around the graveyard.

SL382292SL382299SL382302

A long forgotten and buried headstone which had been unearthed on a previous occasion was carefully reassembled.

SL382295

This turns out to mark the passing of the children of Daniel and Mari Howells in 1865.

SL382298

Three new ornamental trees were planted in the graveyard.

SL382321

In future years the Red Maple, Great White Cherry and Winter Flowering Cherry trees should make a lovely display. Many thanks to Willows Garden Centre, Abercanaid for providing these trees at a discount.

Red Maple Tree

Red Maple Tree

Great White Cherry Tree

Great White Cherry Tree

Winter Flowering Cherry Tree

Winter Flowering Cherry Tree

Stephanie Williams of Oaklands, Troedyrhiw called into the graveyard during the volunteer day to offer her congratulations and support to Friends of Saron for the improvements that they are bringing about. She recalled having attended Saron Chapel as a child and explained her distress at the chapel’s closure, its subsequent demolition and the appalling condition of the graveyard before this project began to make such a difference.

Steve Jones sent us this email on Thursday 13th August:-

‘First off, let me say that I am totally amazed at the transformation of Saron churchyard. I now live in New Zealand but am originally from Merthyr Vale and my father’s family were from Troedyrhiw. I have been tracing my family history for many years and tried to find the registers for Saron but were told they were no longer available. I also tried, about 10 years ago, to try and trace any family graves but it was like a jungle and quite dangerous to enter the graveyard. Imagine my delight when I visited Cyfarthfa Museum today and read about the Friends of Saron! I will be visiting the churchyard before I return to NZ next month in the hope of finding some relative’s graves. The families I am interested in are the Hughes and Davies families.
Once again, well done on an amazing project!’

We were extremely pleased to meet Steve when he called into Saron Graveyard last Saturday.

Steve Jones (centre)  chats with Friends of Saron members.

Steve Jones (centre) chats with Friends of Saron members.

Steve was impressed with what he was able to see in person but, unfortunately, was unable to locate the family graves he was looking for. Friends of Saron have promised Steve that they will do all that they can to help him with his family history research.

 

 

About davidjcollier

Originally from South Wales I have lived in Nottinghamshire for over forty years. I am married and have three grown up children and two grandchildren. Having worked in education for 43 years I will retire in July 2012. My interests include history (general, local and family), rugby union, swimming, photography, bird watching and gardening. For the benefit of anyone who may actually read this (extremely unlikely, I admit) please do not confuse 'interests' with knowledge or skill. My involvement in a community project which aims to rescue a graveyard from the effects of almost 30 years of neglect. also keeps me quite busy. View all posts by davidjcollier

You must be logged in to post a comment.

