The story of the Last Post

 Image by Sergeant Keith Cotton RLC (Phot). CAPTION: 3 Rifles A Company Fire Support Group Bugler sounds last Post. In this image: Rifleman Mark Kelly (22) from Bristol plays the last post at sunset while practising for the rememberance services. The Buglers are also part of the Fire Support Group (FSG) attached to A Company 3rd Battalion The Rifles from their Patrol Base at Nolay Sangin, Patrol the area North of Nolay, South of Sangin in Close support of other call signs on operations. The soldiers patrol using the infamous “Jackal 1” Vehicle that is multi terrain and designed to withstand IED explosions. Its formidable fire power Speed and versatility make it a firm favorite with the troops. Image by Sergeant Keith Cotton RLC (Phot). Please Credit Photographer


Image by Sergeant Keith Cotton RLC (Phot).

The haunting strains of the ‘Last Post’ evoke, for me, memories of the annual Remembrance Sunday ceremonies in Troedyrhiw Park that I attended as a boy in the 1950’s & 60’s. I was pleased to learn that this tradition still continues. This link to the story of the Last Post is worth following: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-34768398

About davidjcollier

Originally from South Wales I have lived in Nottinghamshire for over forty years. I am married and have three grown up children and two grandchildren. Having worked in education for 43 years I will retire in July 2012. My interests include history (general, local and family), rugby union, swimming, photography, bird watching and gardening. For the benefit of anyone who may actually read this (extremely unlikely, I admit) please do not confuse 'interests' with knowledge or skill. My involvement in a community project which aims to rescue a graveyard from the effects of almost 30 years of neglect. also keeps me quite busy. View all posts by davidjcollier

You must be logged in to post a comment.

