The same but not the same

Merthyr Road 1920 approx - Copy

A familiar scene for residents of Troedyrhiw and yet somehow different. This photograph was  taken almost 100 years ago. St David’s ‘Welsh’ Church, which can be seen on the left  of the picture, was demolished some years ago. The huge colliery tips which rose to 100ft and ran from behind Taldwyn, Rhodfa and Tydfil Terraces to Pentrebach were removed in 1975 in what was, at the time, the most expensive land reclamation project ever approved by the Welsh Office at a cost of over £1000,0000. What other changes can you see? And where is the traffic?

About davidjcollier

Originally from South Wales I have lived in Nottinghamshire for over forty years. I am married and have three grown up children and two grandchildren. Having worked in education for 43 years I will retire in July 2012. My interests include history (general, local and family), rugby union, swimming, photography, bird watching and gardening. For the benefit of anyone who may actually read this (extremely unlikely, I admit) please do not confuse 'interests' with knowledge or skill. My involvement in a community project which aims to rescue a graveyard from the effects of almost 30 years of neglect. also keeps me quite busy. View all posts by davidjcollier

You must be logged in to post a comment.

